Words from Woodworker by Clay Chandler of Clays Benches and More

Bench

Register to win this red cedar bench at Clay’s booth on Stop #21!

I was born at home on 7/11/49 on Bluewater Creek, a few miles south of Coble. My birth certificate states place of birth Only, Tennessee. I have lived in Hickman County all my life except some time away for college at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville, and Freed -Hardeman at Henderson. I ‘m married the love of my life Linda in 1969 and we’re still together, soon to be 44yrs. One daughter Jennifer (deceased 1984). Spent most of my working career at the “Button Plant” Universal Fasteners as Maintenance Supervisor.

I’ve always loved to work with wood, my older brother once said “Clays not happy unless he’s building something.” I had both knees replaced in 2006. Climbing around on a building is all but impossible, so I turned to making smaller things, having always seen wood go to waste, I put together a bandmill so that I could mill my lumber. My furniture starts with sawing the lumber, plane and sizing. I take it from tree to finished product. All of my wood is salvaged from storm or tornado damaged trees here in Hickman County. I’m a sentimentalist about knowing where my wood comes from, wood from a special location or storm event makes and records memories. I can tell you where every thing I make once stood as a tree.

During the Arts & Ag Tour I’ll be at the Grinders Switch Winery (Stop #21) along with several local artisans. Come see what we have to offer, tour the vineyard, taste some of their award winning wines and listen to live music by Browns Giftshop Revival and Mathew Haverkamp. Make sure to stop by my booth and register to win the Arts & Ag door-prize, a cedar bench handmade by yours truly.

Leave a Reply

